The difference between me and you…

…is that I’m not on fire.

Random beginning to a post – it’s a cracking album by Mclusky, and worth checking out.

Now, the real difference between me and say another randomly picked promoter is that, when the going gets tough, I pick myself up, dust myself down and get on with it. So I thought I’d take this opportunity to run down the recent list of examples of cancellations… A bit like a name and shame…

1. Burials cancelled Monday, via myspace – though I got the message last night. Too late to stop / change press like BBC Introducing and The Gazette & Herald/ Wiltshire Times. I am upset about this as it has been booked for months, and it a show that has been so well promoted and handled. No real reason has been given, but I understand it’s due to an internal band problem… I’m sure more will come apparent.

2. Luke De-Sciscio cancelled his performance at the Lamb on March 26th last weekend. Well done for giving me advanced notice, but shame on you for not knowing it was your dads 50th and you might be busy! He will return some time soon I’m sure, and he will be welcome!

3. Kingskin – Last autumn you may remember that we had Die! Chihuahua Die! tour come through town, the headliners that night we’re ex-Devizes lads Kingskin, who gave 8 hours notice that they intended on playing acoustic. Acoustic on a heavy night? Not appropriate. This also cost Ian and I around £200 too due to venue and security hire. Not cool.

4. Hybrid Town – Local indie boys who cancelled with just over a week to go for the last indie night. Well done lads – you did it in time to change a lot of the listings, how ever if you knew your drummer would be in France why agree in the first place?
They are making up for this by playing the next indie night, and I’m expecting it to be storming!

5. MOK – Back in Feb Devizes was due to have a colossal night of indie pop punk, with a month to go MOK pulled out – nice amount of time to rebook, not a problem – though it did leave me in a pickle with a £150 contractor fine. They will make up for it I’m sure, and I still love them.

6. Out Like A Lion – (see above gig) as MOK pulled out, OLAL got in a panic and wanted to know that their slot was unaffected. I make all the guarantee’s and kept my promises. Only for OLAL to then cancel on me with less than a weeks notice. Cue radio shows and Gazette features that give the band all the coverage and leave me looking like an arse. OLAL haven’t yet agreed to reschedule their show either. Poor sports.

7. Black Sheep Apprentice – With less than a week to go, BSA pulled out of their Swindon gig for me, supporting a Dutch band doing a UK tour. Due to bassist commitments. Luckily for me David Young of The Vic in Swindon stepped in and heroically saved the day. A true gent.

8. Oppenheimer – Irelands premier indie pop duo cancelled on me with 2 weeks to go, despite having contracts in place by Devizes Festival – to tour with Wombats? Anyway it begs the question what are contracts for? Since I never got any security from it. See MOK point above… where I was the one to then get caught by a contract. Not. Fair.

9. Dead! Dead! Dead! – Bands cancelling is not a new thing… Wayyyy back in 2005, Southampton based cracking indie rock band Dead! x3 cancelled not only one but two gigs that we had them down for in Bath… after the first time why did I trust them again? Especially as they had no history with me!

There are loads of other examples, and this blog post isn’t bitching about it – some times people don’t quite know the consequences of pulling out or acts cancelling on me – or even worse, just not turning up! I just wanted to highlight some of the reasons people give and what it actually costs me.

I take the rough with the smooth, and a great night is always payment for the shit promoters sometimes have to go through – I’m sure there have been times where I have let a band down (one example comes to mind… The Black Hats from Brighton. Headliner pulled out, so I cancel the event – I forgot to tell the opener who drove to Devizes, from Brighton!!, only to find out the event was off. I fully paid their petrol, but couldn’t make up for their waste of time.)

I always do my best, keep my promises and make up for mistakes. I understand things come up, and I get on with it in the best and most professional of manners. I work hard on the gigs I put on, but some gigs are harder than others…

When a gig makes profit, a good promoter has probably earned it! So let’s give a thought to indie promoters, as like bands, they are worth their weight in gold!

Leave a Reply

