Ben Marwood unveils “Back Down”

I love Ben Marwood. He played like my 3rd or 4th ever gig. I’ve given him so many shows it’s ridiculous, and I’ve watched him go from random forum bother-er, to shy international acoustic troubadour and he is still the same great guy I fell in love with. 

Excellent, witty lyrics, which often make you wince or smile and an almost uncomfortable performance style renders him fucking genuine and cool. 

His new album is due to drop through Xtra Mile again, one of my favourite indie’s – home to Chris TT, Jim Lockey, Frank Turner, Future Of The Left et al, and will be called BACK DOWN. I don’t yet know what the title means, I’m sure I’ll ask him at some point. 

The album features 12 songs, which follows on rather nicely from his first album, Outside There’s a Curse. Only this time he feels more comfortable in his own skin, appears to have confident idea of who he is and what he sounds like. More of that american steel guitar, which sounds ace. A smattering of full band, but still the dark undertones. It’s just rad. 

Check out this Ben Morse, directed video for single, UNDER LOCK & KEY, as an example…

You can pre-order the album, like I have >>HERE<< and catch him live at the album launch party at the Rising Sun Art’s Centre in Reading on Saturday May18th, with the excellent Oxygen Thief in support!

MAY
18 READING Rising Sun Arts Centre

JUNE
LEICESTER Cookie Jar @ Crumblin’ Cookie

YORK The Black Swan
DUNDEE Cerberus Bar
5 EDINBURGH Pivo
CHELTENHAM Frog and Fiddle
BRISTOL Louisiana

 

Leave a Reply

