Devizes Festival goes out in style!

Sunday saw the finale of our 3 week music & arts festival, ended in style with self confessed Last Word In Cool with Virginia Ironsides “Growing Old Disgracefully” tour and the first time I heard a flute at one of my shows, with the Bluesy Soul duo, KYLA BROX. The flute knocked me out, and I left feeling they would be great on a bill with Jon Amor…

It was a fantastic end to a record breaking year, which opened my eyes to public speaking via Michael Wood, some wonderful food courteously of Peter Vaughn – who cooked one of the acts meals from their own published cook book (!) and quite possibly the most significant show Devizes has ever witnessed from NEW MODEL ARMY – which has gone down with fans as “one of their best, top 5 most likely”.

I was overwhelmed with the responce from people, as almost every event sold out. We were exposed to a wide range of culture and interests, which I felt privileged to be a part of and humbled by many of the acts and their feedback.

I would like to give a big shout to Abe Juggins, an immensely reliable and capable member of the crew, without whom I wouldn’t of been able to do it.

Keep your ear firmly tuned to Fantasy Radio, as Phil Dawson will be playing some live recordings of some of the shows, of which I have more to give him too. 97fm locally, or online at FantasyRadio.co.uk.

SO on to next year – Now is the time to get your suggestions, and feedback in. We’re specifically looking at suggestions to incorporate a wide range of groups and possibly covering areas we may have missed this year.

And thus, I’ll leave you with the video of Gaz, hammering it out in the Corn Exchange. Until next Year x

 

One thought on “Devizes Festival goes out in style!

  1. Hi there and thanks for a great festival! I live locally (in Trowbridge) and try to keep up with everything music wise locally, as I am a musician myself. But I didn’t know about this festival until a few weeks ago, too late to actually take part, which I would very much love to do. How do I go about requesting this for next year (I assume it’s an annual event). I am an solo acoustic act (singer/songwriter). Thanks again Nigelhttp://www.facebook.com/OneCatBroke

    Date: Mon, 24 Jun 2013 09:44:15 +0000 To: nigelmines@hotmail.co.uk

Leave a Reply

